Lawyer Monthly awarded Meriwether & Tharp Family Law Firm of the Year for the entire nation!!

Thanks for printing!  Don't forget to come back to Meriwether & Tharp, LLC for fresh articles!

Parenting Seminar Information

According to Georgia law, the superior court in any county in Georgia may establish “a program designed to educate the parties to domestic relations actions in regard to the effects of divorce on minor children of the marriage. Establishment of the program shall be by majority vote of the judges of the circuit or by the chief judge, in the event of a tie vote by all judges.” Uniform Superior Court Rule 24.8. Several counties in Georgia have taken advantage of this mandate and established what are normally referred to as parenting seminars or seminars for divorcing parents.

These seminars usually require both parties to a divorce to attend an educational seminar that focuses on the effects of divorce on the children involved.

These courses are held several times a year and must often be completed before the case may be resolved. The specific requirements of each county’s program are different. Parenting seminar information for various greater metro Atlanta counties are listed below. Contact your attorney to learn more about any requirements that may affect you and your divorce action.

Please note that this information is subject to change. To obtain the most accurate and up to date information, please check with each county. A link to each counties web site is provided for your convenience.

CHEROKEE COUNTY

Class Name: Seminar for Divorcing Parents.

Class Required? Yes, for all cases involving minor children.

Deadline to Complete:Within 30 days of receipt of the Domestic Standing Order for parties with children, but in any event before final hearing.

Registration Fee: $50.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.

770-535-6909

CLAYTON COUNTY

Class Name: Seminar for Parents.

Class Required? Yes, for all domestic relations involving minor children including divorce, separate maintenance, modifications of custody or visitation, and legitimation.

Deadline to Complete: The Standing Order of Clayton County Superior Court does not specify a deadline for completion. Normally, completion is usually required at some time before the case may be concluded.

Registration Fee: $30.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.

770-477-4575

COBB COUNTY

Class Name: Helping Children Cope with Divorce: A Seminar for Divorcing Parents.

Class Required? Yes, for all parties in domestic relations actions involving the interests of minor children, except domestic violence and contempt actions

Deadline to Complete: Must be completed within a reasonable time after the service of the Complaint and before the action is finalized.

Registration Fee: $30.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.

770-528-1812

DEKALB COUNTY

Class Name: Seminar for Divorcing Parents.

Class Required? Yes, for all parties in any domestic relations case in which the custody of a minor child is involved.

Deadline to Complete: Within 31 days of service of the Complaint upon original defendant.

Registration Fee: $30.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.

404-371-4953

FORSYTH COUNTY

Class Name: Seminar for Divorcing Parents.

Class Required? Yes, for parties involved in divorce, separate maintenance, paternity, change of custody, child support, visitation, legitimation, and other domestic relations actions involving children.

Deadline to Complete: Within 31 days of service of the original complaint upon the defendant.

Registration Fee: $50.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.

FULTON COUNTY

Class Name: Families in Transition Seminar.

Class Required? Yes, for parties involved in divorce, separate maintenance, paternity, change of custody, visitation, legitimation, and other domestic relations matters involving minor children.

Deadline to Complete: Within 30 days of the court order being served upon Respondent/Defendant.

Registration Fee: $30.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.

404-730-4618

GWINNETT COUNTY

Class Name: Navigating Family Change: A Parenting Seminar.

Class Required? Yes, for all domestic relations actions involving a child younger than 18 where the parties are involved in a divorce, separate maintenance, paternity, change of custody, visitation, legitimation, and any other domestic action except contempt and domestic violence, generally.

Deadline to Complete: Both parties must complete within 31 days of service of Complaint on Defendant.

Registration Fee: $30.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.

770-822-8553

HALL COUNTY

Class Name: Seminar for Divorcing Parents.

Class Required? Yes, for all cases involving minor children.

Deadline to Complete: Within 30 days of receipt of the Domestic Standing Order for parties with children, but in any event before final hearing.

Registration Fee: $50.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.

770-535-6909

PICKENS COUNTY

Class Name: Seminar for Divorcing Parents.

Class Required? Yes, for parties involved in divorce, separate maintenance, paternity, change of custody, child support, visitation, legitimation, and other domestic relations actions involving children.

Deadline to Complete: Within 31 days of service of the original complaint upon the defendant.

Registration Fee: $50.

Click here for dates, times, locations & additional information.